Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
craigalicious View Drop Down
Instructor
Instructor

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Direct TV or Cable - Which should I get
    Posted: May/04/2010 at 2:56pm
I'm trying to figure out which option would be best.  However, I have no experience with Direct TV, so I'm asking for your input.  Currently, my cable+internet is about $80.  If I switch to Direct TV, I can lower that by $20.  Of course, this is if I were to be able to have Direct TV for only 12 months.  Of course, is not possible because Direct TV requires a 2-year agreement.  I've heard many stories about cancellation prices and all that.  Some of them are pretty bad horror stories while some are pretty mellow.  I've been told and also read that the cancellation fee is equal to the amount of months that I would have paid if I kept the service.  Is this true?  Also, are there any other fees?  I've read the Customer Agreement, but I'm having a hard time wrapping my head around it.

Reasons for considering Direct TV: more and better channels than my current cable service.  cheaper, in theory, if the cancellation fee isn't too high.

The reason why I would want to cancel after 12 months is because I am not sure where or what I will be doing after my last year of college.

Thoughts?

Also, if you're going to just tell me what you like best, then GTFO please.  I'm not asking that question.

Mike.M View Drop Down
Instructor
Instructor
OUTSIDE MY DECK

Direct Link To This Post Posted: May/04/2010 at 3:07pm
i would do direct tv and i learned how to work the system.

if you live in an area with lots of trees (me in tahoe) or in an apartment that is north facing (me in sacramento) you can not have direct tv.

here is the trick:
In my investigation, if you move in the middle of your 2 year contract, direct tv will gladly transfer your service.