Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
ncc719 View Drop Down
Lift Op.
Lift Op.

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Riding Very Small Boards
    Posted: Feb/16/2011 at 2:25pm
Alright, so I have been riding for about 8 years and riding park seriously for 5 years now. I have been riding the Ride Kink 152 and absolutely loved it for jibbing. Im 5'8 150-155 lbs. Now this part is probably going to sound crazy but I just bought a 144 Capita Stairmaster and took it up a couple times to Keystone to ride it. It feels awesome even though its a ridiculously small board. It has tons of feel, still has a lot of pop and its super buttery by nature and also because its tiny. I took it off a couple smaller jumps and it handles fine (its probably not as stable as it should be for larger jumps, but for 30ft and under it seems good and and has awesome spinablity.

I have also taken it around the mountain and it seems to ride a lot better than my 152 kink on the groomers as well.I just couldn't understand how this small of a board could offer a better ride than an appropriate sized board.

Do any of you ride very small boards, and how does your board hold up throughout the season? Im just trying to see if there are any fellow riders out there who ride these kind of boards and I want to hear some comments about it.
keljai View Drop Down
Instructor
Instructor

Direct Link To This Post Posted: Feb/16/2011 at 2:28pm
smaller= lighter, easier to manuver BUT at the same time it wont handle high speed or pow as good for you. thats the only draw back
chriskot View Drop Down
Ski Bum
Ski Bum

Direct Link To This Post Posted: Feb/16/2011 at 6:53pm
Yeah I've strapped into my girlfriend's board before and it's fun to whip it around
getkong View Drop Down
Instructor
Instructor

Direct Link To This Post Posted: Feb/16/2011 at 8:25pm