Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
fiend138 View Drop Down
Ski Bum
Ski Bum

Online Status: Offline
Direct Link To This Post Topic: Chair Lift
    Posted: Feb/23/2011 at 4:45am
I'm still fairly new to the sport and while I continue to get better, there's still one area that gives me fits. Does anyone have any good tips for getting off the chair lift, or is this just something I will improve at as time goes by?
teuhsb View Drop Down
Ski Bum
Ski Bum

Direct Link To This Post Posted: Feb/23/2011 at 4:50am
If it's slow enough, I usually push myself off the lift. Otherwise, I've been told to keep my legs straight and let the chair push you down or use your hand to push off the chair. You'll get used to it.
iamjason10 View Drop Down
Instructor
Instructor

Direct Link To This Post Posted: Feb/23/2011 at 4:52am
it can be hard at times, i still fall every once in a while, i try to just stand on my board and put my hand on the lift and let it push me away, then i just go straight unless there are people in the way
casanovaa0 View Drop Down
Ski Bum
Ski Bum

Direct Link To This Post Posted: Feb/23/2011 at 5:25am
in the beginning i like to tell people to keep the toes of the loose foot hanging off the board a bit with your heal on the stomp pad. this will allow you to dig into the snow a little when getting off so give you the option to "brake". this will automatically turn your board as well.
| | | bryman | | | View Drop Down
Instructor
Instructor
panic lounge

Direct Link To This Post Posted: Feb/23/2011 at 5:27am
try to time it so you don't roll off at the same time as all of the other jokers around you.  Sometimes easier said than done, but like you mentioned you'll get a feel for it as you move on.  ONe-footing on a sb is not a natural thing, but as you practice you'll learn to control it in any situation. 

-b
get bent
EpicFAIL View Drop Down
Local
Local

Direct Link To This Post Posted: Feb/23/2011 at 5:30am