Board Maintenance

Share/Save/Bookmark

Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Sashap View Drop Down
Lift Op.
Lift Op.

Online Status: Offline
  Quote Sashap Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Board Maintenance
    Posted: Dec/04/2012 at 11:52am
I have been boarding occasionally for about 3 years and inherited an old burton board from my older sister I was pretty young and didn't know about proper maintenance and care. The hills I ride on are fairly icy and I do have a lot of gouges and dings (no core shots thank god) and my edges are all are all chipped and tor up. Being left over the summer it got some rust and an overall coat of dust. I was going to go tot he shop but don't have time at the moment and want to know how I can get it fixed or how much it will cost? The edges all around the board have chips .
jhoang6 View Drop Down
Instructor
Instructor
Mt. Seymour, BC

Quote jhoang6 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Dec/04/2012 at 12:04pm
cost about $40 for my to do a board tune up
which inclues waxing and sharpening the edges.

If you have a gummy stone you can probably just run it across the edge to get rid of the rust.

Just remember to dry your gear everytime you're done.
Skio25 View Drop Down
Local
Local
Just board at the cabin

Quote Skio25 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Dec/04/2012 at 12:10pm
Originally posted by jhoang6

cost about $40 for my to do a board tune up
which inclues waxing and sharpening the edges.

If you have a gummy stone you can probably just run it across the edge to get rid of the rust.

Just remember to dry your gear everytime you're done.

Just so you know, that's absurd.

Granted it does take a bit of time to wax a board unless the shop has an automated machine, but that's a rip off.

You could spend as much if not less on a kit to tune it yourself - unless you have the money to drop on a tune up then more power to you.
Sashap View Drop Down