Help with riding and board choice

Share/Save/Bookmark

Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
koji3 View Drop Down
Instructor
Instructor

Online Status: Offline
  Quote koji3 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Help with riding and board choice
    Posted: Apr/25/2014 at 2:26am
Hey guys,
So i wanted to ask a few questions with how to improve on riding and a board choice to suit me! :D
Just a heads up that i'm not the best at explaining thing. So sorry and thank you in advance. 

I've been boarding for a few years on and off now (taking time off work is hard) and probably have only 20 days of riding under my belt in 4 years. I'm 188cm and around 68kg, size 11.5 boots riding 15/12 for stance on my Flow Verve 154cm W (Rome 390 Boss bindings). I can hit up Green and Blue runs over in South New Zealand comfortably, no carving but i believe its solid riding with some good turns and control. I've been picking up my speed in the last trip but no where as quick as regular riders and getting solid control over switch riding.
I found myself loving to ride natural terrain tracks especially with loads of bumps. I've started to hit up rails and jibs and also a few smaller kickers.

Now, with my riding i've found that higher speeds, my board seems to rattle a noticeable amount and I have to put a bit more effort into holding lines and initiating turns, flailing my back arm at times (i know, super uncool...). any tips on how to keep better control at higher speeds and flailing my back hand a little less? or is it just a practice and confidence thing? 
When starting off on kickers, should I pop off it with an ollie or simply pushing my weight up off the lip? Also with my landings, i seem to only stick half of them. Not sure what I am doing wrong (and i know its a bit hard to advise without seeing footage) but should i be landing flat to the landing or with slightly more weight to the back foot?